Radio Station Field Trip

Our class’ field trip to CJAI Amherst Island Radio Station, and Corus Entertainment was interesting.

CJAI was a very small radio station, but kind of cute. The information we were given there was very informative and told us everything we needed to about the station, the commercials, our client, and our target market. The people were super friendly there too.

Corus Entertainment was my favourite part of the trip, though. Everyone was so intrigued by all the “pretty colours” but I just thought they were a cool bonus – I wasn’t starstruck by them or anything. Just thought it was a cool touch to a place instead of using boring plain colours. I really enjoyed being in the radio stations and hearing them be live on-air. It was interesting to see that they actually smiled while they were talking to make them sound more excited and enthusiastic on air.

Going to the guy who recorded and edited the commercials (I forget his name….) was awesome. His little studio was pretty dark and I think it would be hard to be in there all day every day with that lighting and no windows… but it was pretty cool. Hearing Jim record that commercial was awesome too because I realized I hear him do commercials all the time – his voice is like my standard one I know for radio commercials.

The newsroom was by far my favourite part, though. It was soo cool to be IN the actual studio they record the news. It was not at all what I expected though. I expected a room with a window, kind of, even though I suppose I knew in the back of my mind it was green-screen and stuff. It was much smaller and more “ghetto” than I imagined it to be.

A fairly small room overall considering. And kind of funny how “ghetto” it was – almost like a really sketchy drama room that has so many random things laying around in it and almost kind of creepy.

I enjoyed the field trip – it was really cool.

Leave a comment